Heinrich Hoffmann

Who was Heinrich Hoffmann?


Heinrich Hoffmann was born on June 13th, 1809 in Frankfurt am Main. His mother died before his first birthday. His father was simultaneously a master-builder

Heinrich Hoffmann

Heinrich Hoffmann

and a city building inspector. In 1813, Heinrich’s father married the sister of his dead wife, in whom Heinrich found a loving stepmother. The family lived modestly in several of Heinrich’s father’s newly constructed houses. Besides his time in school, Heinrich Hoffmann spent his whole life in Frankfurt am Main, which until 1866 was wholly independent.



Heinrich Hoffmann could not make ends meet pursuing his passion for writing. He began to study medicine at the request of his father. He studied in Heidelberg, Halle, and Paris until 1833. His fellow students nicknamed him Rabbit because he often abstained from drunken rowdiness in favor of spending time in nature and hiking.



Hoffmann established himself as a general practitioner in the Sachsenhausen district of Frankfurt am Main. Here he lived modestly in the Gasthof zum Tannenbaum. Along with his colleagues, Hoffmann looked after a clinic for the poor, in which patients from nearby towns and with little money were treated free of charge. For Hoffmann, this extension of his student life was a happy time. He wrote many poems, which he published as a book in 1842, though to little financial success. He shined, however, as a speechmaker at official events, including the 1844 dedication of the Goethe monument.



In this year the young doctor with an insecure income married Therese Donner, the daughter of a distinguished merchant. The first of their three children, Carl Philipp, was born a year later in 1841. It was with a gift to this child that Heinrich Hoffmann would become world famous.



Hoffmann received in this year the highly sought-after position of anatomist at the Senckenbergisches Institut. The year would become historically significant, however, by way of a trifle. At Christmastime, Hoffmann was searching for a children’s book to give to his three-year-old son. Disappointed by all he found, Hoffmann decided that he himself would compose the book. He purchased a blank notebook and got to work. By Christmas Eve the book lay beneath the tree.



Were it not for the publisher Zacharias Löwenthal, it is certain that nothing more would have come of this little book. He read it by chance, and recognized in it an original kind of children’s book, and pressed Hoffmann to publish it. Hoffmann, however, was hesitant. Perhaps he was afraid of what the publication of a book for children could do to his reputation as a respected doctor and poet. Nevertheless, “on a bright, wine-influenced whim,” he consented. In the first edition, however, Hoffmann appears under the pseudonym “Reimerich Kinderlieb.” In 1845, the first 3,000 copies of the book came onto the market (not 1,500, as Hoffmann once indicated), and were quickly bought up. From then on there have been countless editions of the work.


Hoffmann published five other books for children, including King Nut-Cracker or The Dream of Poor Reinhold (1851). None of these, however, were able to repeat the success of the Struwwelpeter. Hoffmann also wrote humorous books for adults, two political satires during the 1848 revolution, among other things. In 1873 he published his final work, a collection of poetry, called “On Bright Paths” (Auf heiteren Pfaden).



Heinrich Hoffmann was also politically engaged. In March of 1848 he celebrated the revolution against princely rule with his lyric “Listen Well, my People” (“Horch auf, mein Volk”). Hoffmann was a moderate liberal, who argued for a constitutional monarchy under Prussian rule. He was a member of the pre-parliament, which organized the first German national convention in Frankfurt’s Paulskirche.



Hoffmann’s lifework was accomplished in his position as a doctor. In 1851 he became the executive of the “Institute for the Epileptic and Insane” in Frankfurt. Hoffmann, who had never before experienced working in such a ward, found his calling there. From then on he pursued the goal of the betterment of his patients’ living circumstances.


Hoffmann, in this time, pursued his work with a medical perspective that was unique at the time, that is, to treat his patients as victims of illnesses that could be treated and helped with the proper medicines. Before this time the mentally ill had been viewed as lazy, unwilling to work, or possessed by the devil. They were treated as criminals and often locked away in prisons. Hoffmann worked for years to change these common misperceptions. Hoffmann’s psychiatric case studies of mental disorders and epilepsy (1859) were published as part of his effort to gain clearance to have a new building constructed for his institute. With his imagination and perseverance, Hoffmann’s plan was eventually realized, and construction began on this exemplary psychiatric clinic, despite protests from other parties. The clinic was dedicated before the gates of the city at Affenstein in 1864. It was nicknamed the “Mad Castle” (“Irrenschloß”) by residents for its magnificent, neo-gothic design. Hoffmann lived there with his family until his retirement in 1888.



Heinrich Hoffmann died in his hometown of Frankfurt am Main on the 20th of September.

© 2017 frankfurter werkgemeinschaft e.V. | fwg e.V.
Scroll Up

Heinrich Hoffmann

Biographie

Heinrich Hoffmann

Heinrich Hoffmann

1809
Am 13. 06.1809 wurde Heinrich Hoffmann in Frankfurt am Main geboren. Die Mutter starb noch vor Heinrichs erstem Geburtstag. Der Vater war städtischer Bauinspektor und gleichzeitig auch Baumeister. 1813 heiratete er die Schwester seiner verstorbenen Frau, mit der Heinrich eine liebevolle Stiefmutter bekam. Die Familie lebte bescheiden und musste die neu erbauten Häuser des Vaters Trockenwohnen. Heinrich Hoffmann verbrachte bis auf die Studienzeit sein ganzes Leben in Frankfurt, das bis 1866 eine Freie Stadt, ein eigener Staat war.

1829 – 1833
Aus Heinrichs Leidenschaft, der Schriftstellerei, konnte kein Brotberuf werden. Auf Wunsch des Vaters begann er mit dem Studium der Medizin. Bis 1833 studierte er in Heidelberg, Halle und Paris. Seine Kommilitonen nannten ihn Feldhase, weil er sich aus Trinkgelagen und Mensur nichts machte und lieber spazieren ging.

1835
Hoffmann ließ sich als praktischer Arzt im Frankfurter Stadtteil Sachsenhausen nieder und wohnte sehr bescheiden im Gasthof zum Tannenbaum. Mit anderen Arztkollegen betreute er die Armenklinik, die auch mittellose Kranke in den umliegenden Dörfern kostenlos versorgte. Es war eine vergnügte Zeit für Hoffmann, die Verlängerung des Studentenlebens. Er schrieb viele Gedichte, die 1842 auch veröffentlicht wurden. Als Festredner glänzte Heinrich Hoffmann bei offiziellen Anlässen, so bei der Einweihung des Goethe-Denkmals im Jahr 1844.

1840
heiratete der junge Arzt mit unsicherem Einkommen Therese Donner, die aus einer angesehenen Kaufmannsfamilie stammte. 1841 kam als erstes von drei Kindern Sohn Carl Philipp auf die Welt. Durch ein Geschenk für diesen Sohn sollte der Vater weltberühmt werden.

1844
erhielt Hoffmann die ersehnte Anstellung als Anatom am Senckenbergischen Institut. Historisch bedeutsam sollte das Jahr durch eine Nebensache werden: Zu Weihnachten suchte Hoffmann nach einem Kinderbuch für seinen Dreijährigen. Enttäuscht vom wenig kindgerechten Angebot beschloss der Papa, selbst ein Bilderbuch herzustellen. Er kaufte ein leeres Schreibheft und machte sich an die Arbeit. An Heiligabend lag das Büchlein unter dem Tannenbaum.

1845
Sicher wüßten wir heute nichts von diesem Buch, wenn es nicht der Verleger Zacharias Löwenthal zu Gesicht bekommen hätte. Er erkannte den völlig neuartigen Typ von Kinderbuch und drängte Hoffmann zur Veröffentlichung. Dieser zögerte. Vielleicht fürchtete er um seinen guten Ruf als Arzt und als Poet, wenn er sich mit solchen “Kindereien” abgab. Schließlich stimmte er “in heiterer Weinlaune” zu, ließ aber die erste Auflage unter dem Pseudonym “Reimerich Kinderlieb” erscheinen. Im Herbst 1845 kamen die ersten 3000 Exemplare der Erstausgabe (nicht 1500, wie Hoffmann selbst später angab) unter dem Titel Lustige Geschichten und drollige Bilder auf den Markt und waren schnell verkauft. Von da an folgte Auflage auf Auflage.

Heinrich Hoffmann veröffentlichte noch fünf weitere Kinderbücher. So folgte auf den Struwwelpeter 1851 König Nußknacker und der arme Reinhold. Posthum erschien 1924 Besuch bei Frau Sonne. Keines konnte jedoch den Erfolg des Erstlings wiederholen. Auch für Erwachsene schrieb Hoffmann, u.a. zwei politische Satiren in der Revolutionszeit von 1848. Im Jahr 1873 erschien als letztes Werk die Gedichtsammlung Auf heiteren Pfaden.

1848
Heinrich Hoffmann war auch politisch engagiert. Im März 1848 feierte er die Revolution gegen die Fürstenherrschaft mit dem Lied “Horch auf, mein Volk”. Hoffmann war ein Mann der Mitte, ein Liberaler, der für eine konstitutionelle Monarchie unter der Führung Preußens eintrat. Er war Mitglied im Vorparlament, das die erste deutsche Nationalversammlung in der Frankfurter Paulskirche vorbereitete.

1851
Sein Lebenswerk schuf Hoffmann jedoch in seinem Beruf als Arzt. 1851 wurde er ärztlicher Leiter der “Anstalt für Irre und Epileptische” in Frankfurt. Hoffmann, der nie zuvor in einem “Irrenhaus” gewesen war, hatte seine Lebensaufgabe gefunden: die dringend nötige Verbesserung der Lebensumstände seiner Patienten.

Hoffmann setzte eine damals neue medizinische Erkenntnis in die Tat um: Er behandelte psychisch kranke Menschen als Kranke, denen medizinisch geholfen werden konnte. Vorher waren psychisch Kranke als arbeitsscheu, vom Teufel besessen oder als kriminell angesehen und weggesperrt worden. Heinrich Hoffmann arbeitete Jahre daran, dieses öffentliche Bewußtsein zu verändern. Der Nervenarzt Heinrich Hoffmann war Praktiker, kein Theoretiker. Seine psychiatrische Fachschrift Beobachtungen über Seelenstörungen und Epilepsie (1859) veröffentlichte er vor allem, um sein Projekt eines Anstaltsneubaus in Frankfurt durchsetzen zu können. Mit Phantasie und Ausdauer realisiert er diesen Plan einer modellhaften psychiatrischen Klinik trotz vieler Widerstände. 1864 wurde vor den Toren der Stadt die Klinik auf dem Affenstein eingeweiht, die von den Frankfurtern wegen ihres prächtigen neugotischen Baustils liebevoll “Irrenschloß” genannt wurde. Hier lebte auch Hoffmann mit seiner Familie bis zur Pensionierung im Jahr 1888.

1894
Am 20. September starb Heinrich Hoffman in seiner Vaterstadt Frankfurt am Main in seiner Wohnung im Grüneburgweg Nr. 95.

© 2016 frankfurter werkgemeinschaft e.V. | fwg e.V.